Artist/ Band: Rick Ray
Title: Chainsaw Manicure
Label: Neurosis Records
Year of Release: 2004
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

So here we have another release from guitarist extraordinaire, Rick Ray. (I still think he should get in the Guinness Book of Records for all of the releases he’s done in such a short period of time.) His latest release is called 'Chainsaw Manicure', and it’s all Rick on the instruments with guest Rick Shultz. As his pervious works, he fuses hard rock with blues, jazz and some progressive rock moments.

Rick’s lyrics are quite satirical but not too cynical. Fans of hard rock will enjoy this and his other CDs greatly. The reason is he adds a “old school” 70's flavor to his songwritting that gives it a more timeless feeling. Overall the music is rock ‘n roll with slight complex moments throughout. One more thing is his CDs are inexpensive so if you like one you’ll surely be able to afford more of his collective works. Check it out, you’ll have fun listening for sure!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 8th, 2005


1. Reality Replaces The Symbol
2. Leave It Unsaid
3. Nothing Left To Think
4. How Can I Miss You
5. Just Wanted To Thank You
6. In The Void
7. Arrested
8. Give War A Chance
9. Threnody
10. Rhinoceros Shuffle
11. I Love Your Stinking Guts
12. Chainsaw Manicure
13. Nowheresville

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at ProgNaut.com.

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2011, ProgNaut.com, All Rights Reserved.