Artist/ Band: Lana Lane
Title: Winter Sessions
Label: Think Tank Media
Year of Release: 2003
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Lana Lane and husband Erik Norlander sure have been busy in 2003 with four releases between them (two Lana releases, one from Erik and the European Tour 2003 CD). The first release was the brilliant Covers Collection earlier in the year and to close 2003 the appropriately titled, Winter Sessions was released in time for the holidays. The overall mood of this recording is somber and dreamlike, unlike her previous studio albums such as Project Shangri-La and Secrets of Astrology. But with that said, don’t expect anything boring here for the music is energized on Winter Sessions with more focus on Lana’s voice from what I gather. There are some of the most beautiful ballads that Lana has ever recorded on this cd, along with some excellent musicianship from the usual suspects.

The more well known of the cover tunes are a stunning versions of Procol Harum’s “A Whiter Shade of Pale”, and The Mamas and The Papas’ “California Dreamin’”. Lana brings forth her own take on these while remaining faithful to the original arrangements. The other covers are two jazzy numbers, “I’ll Be Seeing You” originally sung by Bing Crosby and by Ginger Rogers. “Ill Wind (You’re Blowing Me No Good) by Billie Holiday and agian by Frank Sinatra. Finally she does something from a Think Tank Media artist, Rocket Scientists, that of “Carry Me Home”. Lana just seems to be a shining star on all the songs. I don’t have a favorite but I can say this is her best overall recording. For long time and new fans, this is .a highly recommended release of 2003.

Maybe Lana and Erik will have some local Southern California shows in 2004 ;-)

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on January 13th, 2004


01. What A World [5:03]
02. Spirit of the Gypsy [8:21]
03. A Whiter Shade of Pale [4:58]
04. December Moon [6:06]
05. I'll Be Seeing You [4:04]
06. Carnivale (Let It Rain) [6:20]
07. Carry Me Home [5:33]
08. Ill Wind (You're Blowin' Me No Good) [4:24]
09. California Dreamin' [4:02]
10. Winter Song [5:02]
11. Terminus Pro Tempore [5:15]

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.