Artist/ Band: Syzygy
Title: Realms Of Eternity
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Syzygy have released a long awaited album entitled, Realms of Eternity, a follow-up to the Allegory Of Light, which was in 2003. The band line-up, which remains the same as previous releases, includes Carl Baldassarre (guitars), Sam Giunta (keyboards), Al Rolik (bass) and Paul Mihacevich (drums). As with previous releases, all the band members have vocal chores. On Realms of Eternity, there’s the addition is vocalist Mark Boals, who is heard right off is the opening track, “Darkfield”, which is one of my favorite tracks on the album. Mark has sung in bands like Yngwie Malmsteen and Uli Jon Roth as well as featured duets, most notable is one with Lana Lane.

The rest of the album has a nice mixture of vocal and instrumental tracks that have both a modern and classic sound to them. This time around there’s more of a modern muscle to the instrumentation. I feel Mark’s inclusion has the band stepping up their sound for the modern music listener. Aside from the opening 10 + minute track, there are two more epics, “Dreams”, “Dialectic” as well as the 8-part “The Sea”

2009 has been quite a great year in progressive rock, at least to me. Syzygy’s Realms Of Eternity is one of the main reasons for that. It’s going to be tough picking top favorites for 2009, but Syzygy has secured it’s place amongst the ranks. Highly recommended would be an understatement for this release. I do look forward to hearing the live versions of this , Allegory Of Light and Witsend’s Cosmos and Chaos, at this years’ 3RP Festival.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on August 6th, 2009


01. Darkfield
02. Vanitas
03. Dreams
04. Echoes Remain
05. Dialectic

The Sea:

06. Arranmore Isle
07. Overture
08. The Sea
09. The Morning Song
10. Variations, Part 1
11. Variations, Part 2
12. Reflections
13. Finale

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2013,, All Rights Reserved.