Artist/ Band: RPWL
Title: God Has Failed
Label: Tempus Fugit
Year of Release: 2000
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

RPWL is named as an anagram of the last names of the members, Phil Paul Risettion, Chris Postl, Karlheinz Wallner, and Jurgen ‘Yogi’ Lung. Yogi, Chris and Karl were formerly members of a Pink Floyd tribute band, which should be obvious from the moment this CD starts. That echoey guitar, that lazy way of singing, all calls to mind some of the best Floyd tunes. On the opening cut, “Hole In the Sky,” they even use “set my controls for the heart of the sun” as a lyric.

As “Hole In the Sky” fades, we are treated with a very cool repeating riff as we lead into “Who Do You Think We Are.” Some differences from the Floyd sound become more evident here, as they use perhaps a more traditional style of harmonies with their voices than the usual Pink Floyd sound. Many of the guitar solos miss that incredible fluid Dave Gilmour style, but not many guitarists can play with the precision and melodic sensibility of Mr. Gilmour. Wallner does a great job nonetheless, perhaps getting closest on “In Your Dreams.”

Pretty much smack dab in the middle of this recording is “It’s Alright” and “Crazy Lane,” two of my favorite tracks on God Has Failed. Both have a stronger sense of melody and a feel for the hook than others on the CD, and “Crazy Lane” in particular may win the award for the catchiest chorus on this recording.

The chord progressions are much more in a progressive style than the usual blues based patterns used by Waters and Gilmour. This is especially clear on “Fool.” “Spring of Freedom” almost nears latter-day Genesis in sound, although it copies perhaps one of Jon Anderson’s stupidest lyrics from “Roundabout” in “Mountains come out of the sky and they are standing there.” What the heck does that mean anyway?

This is a great debut, and despite a couple of flaws here and there shows promise of what’s to come. If you are a fan of post-Parsons Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree, Pineapple Thief, or any of the wonderful new bands coming out that have their roots in the Space/Psychedelic Progressive Rock camp… You will love this.

Reviewed by Terry Jackson on April 30th, 2010


01. Hole in the Sky [part 1: Fly, Part 2: Crawl to You] (8.22)
02. Who Do You Think We Are (4:15)
03. Wait Five Years (3.00)
04. What I Need - Part 1: Leaving (1.56)
05. part 2: What I Need (5.19)
06. In Your Dreams (6.47)
07. It's Alright (5.21)
08. Crazy Lane (4.43)
09. Fool (5.27)
10. Hole in the Sky (part 3: The Promise) (2.39)
11. Spring of Freedom (5.52)
12. Farewell (5.50)
13. God Has Failed (2.16)

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.