Artist/ Band: Morglbl
Title: Grotesk
Label: Free Electric Sound
Year of Release: 2007
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

The French instrumental trio, Morglbl, comprised of Christophe Godin (guitars), Pierre Frelezeau (drums), and Ivan Rougny (bass) has been around since 1996, and Grotesk is their third official release on the Free Electric Sound label in 2007.Their music is hard-hitting and combines crunchy metal with jazz fusion along with humor. From my limited exposure to this genre, I would say the music is akin to the stylings of Frank Zappa, Steve Vai and Allan Holdsworth.

Although this isnít the music I listen to, I found it a fun challenge to explore what this trio of fine musicians can create. If you deeply enjoy instrumental music that fuses both metal & jazz, with soloing that doesnít take away from the song, then look no further and pick up a copy ASAP!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 6th, 2008


1. Tapas Nocturne
2. L'Ami Deglingo
3. Buffet Froid
4. Le Project Pied De Biche
5. Lieutenant Colombin
6. Les Petits Nous
7. The Toy Maker
8. Haute Voltige En Haute-Volta
9. Fevrier Afghan
10. Totale Bricole
11. Il Bello Di Note (Bonus)
12. Studio Delirium (Bonus)

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.