Artist/ Band: California Guitar Trio
Title: Andromeda
Label: Inner Knot
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

California Guitar Trio‘s eighth studio release, Andromeda, has the band in an expanded line-up. Joining the trio are Eric Slick (drums on “Cathedral Park” & “Portland Rain”), Julie Slick (bass on “Cathedral Park”, “Portland Rain” & “Middle Of TX”), Tony Levin (Chapman stick on “Turn Of The Tide”), Tom Griesgraber (Chapman stick on “Improv IX” & “Improv IIV”) plus many others. Also on this release, the band can boast that for the first time in years, an album of all original songs.

Over the years the California Guitar Trio has perfected their unique craft of guitar playing and song arrangements. I strongly feel that with each release they tops themselves thus giving their fans the reason to continue to purchasing and listen to new material.

From the opening track of “Cathedral Park” (4;21) to the closing track of “Improv I” (3:07), the guest musicians help the trio in creating some of their best compositions to date. Adding the remaining songs gives a full album of beautifully played material.

If you‘re a fan of the band and wanted to hear an album full of original songs then look no further than Andromeda. Even if you just enjoy listening to the band‘s music, I can highly recommend this album to those persons. I’d also recommend, if you can, to see the California Guitar Trio in concert. I’ve seen them twice and have fond memories of both times.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 28th, 2011


01. Cathedral Park
02. Turn of the Tide
03. Andromeda
04. Improv IX
05. Hazardous Z
06. Chacarera
07. Improv VII
08. Middle of TX
09. Improv VIII (Layered Circulation)
10. Portland Rain
11. Improv I

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.