Artist/ Band: The Aurora Project
Title: Shadow Border
Label: Laser's Edge
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

The Aurora Project return after an almost 3 year gap with their second album, Shadow Border on a brand new label, Laser’s Edge since DVS folded a few years back. The line-up remains the same with Dennis Binnekade (vocals), who at times remind me mostly of Riverside‘s Mariusz Duda, since they both sing with a heartbreaking passion. Joining Dennis are Remco van der Berg & Marc Vooys (guitars), Marcel Guyt (keyboards), Rob Krijsgman (bass) and Joris Bol (drums).

From the amazing opening track “Human Gateway“ to the closing self titled epic, you know the band is back and in top form. I found the entire album to be very enjoyable and can’t seem to get it out of rotation on my stereo. It has a somewhat spiritual vibe which deals in universal harmonic balance. This is more bearable to hear than being preached to like some artists feel they must resort to, to tell a good story.

If you enjoy the output of bands like Riverside, Tool, Indukti, Pink Floyd and Anathema, to name a few, then you must get this album. I feel it defies being lumped in as a progressive metal band because there’s so much more going on than in that almost suffocating stale genre . This album gets my highest recommendation and a secure place in my top favorite releases of 2009.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on August 6th, 2009


01. Human Gateway
02. The Trial
03. Photonic Reunion
04. The Confession
05. Another Dream
06. Within The Realms
07. Shadow Border

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.