Artist/ Band: Strange Land
Title: Anomaly
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2001
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Hailing from New Berlin, Wisconsin, comes a new progressive rock/metal trio called Strange Land. They’re firmly rooted in hard edged progressive rock and sometimes crossover to progressive metal and can be best described as a perfect mixture of Rush, King’s X, Enchant and Fates Warning to name a few. Their debut album entitled Anomaly was released in 2001, consisted of Sean Gil (guitars), Brad Klotz (drums) who left after this records, and Chad Novell (bass, keyboards and vocals).

From the opening track of “All Things Considered” (5:38) to the closing track of “Distorted Grandeur” (7:13), the listener is treated to some high energy music and top-notch musicians and vocals. There’s no soloing members in this band, only three musicians creating some excellent music that‘s on the raw side, production-wise. I don’t have a favorite song simply because I like everything on the album.

If you’re a fan of the aforementioned bands or melodic hard progressive rock/metal then Strange Land is the band for you. Their debut Anomaly shows the band at an start for this band and of great things to come for them as well. This is a recommended debut in the progressive rock/metal genre.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on December 3rd, 2010


01. All Things Considered (5:38)
02. Not For This World (4:50)
03. Unstuck (6:08)
04. Nothinghead (4:33)
05. Foundation (5:37)
06. Invisible Darkness (4:54)
07. Fatal Flaw (6:30)
08. Flight (5:00)
09. Scorpio (3:42)
10. I Don't Know You Anymore (6:48)
11. Injustice Rising (8:26)
12. Distorted Grandeur (7:10)

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.