Artist/ Band: Paatos
Title: Kallocain
Label: InsideOut
Year of Release: 2004
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

World renowned InsideOut Music adds a new dimension in sound to their metal based label with the second album from the Swedish band, Paatos. Kallocain marks the band's debut for Inside Out which is positioning them as a post-rock band drawing comparisons to King Crimson and Portishead (mainly because of the female vocals). I vaguely remembered the latter band and feel that it should be stressed that itís an influence. Paatos takes the listener through a very dreamy musical journey. Also you might hear something of familiarity in their sound as Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree) mixed the album.

Overall the album is very moody music that evokes Portishead with bits of Sigur Ros but adds a 70's vibe that was present in their debut. Kallocain is different, modern sounding than their debut, "Timeloss" which had more of a 70s throwback sound. To me the band has their own identity now beyond their roots of Landberk.

Also if you get the limited edition version, you get a DVD of the band's performance on Rockpalast TV. This is for those music fans that enjoy surrealistic soundscapes with gothic undertones. Another great release of 2004 that should be in all progressive music fanís collections. Go buy it now, and if you donít have the first, buy that one too. Both are a recommended purchase!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on June 24th, 2004


1. Gasoline
2. Holding On
3. Happiness
4. Absinth Minded
5. Look At Us
6. Reality
7. Stream
8. Wonīt Be Coming Back
9. In Time

  • Additional info: The Special Edition contains a bonus Live DVD

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.