Artist/ Band: Kosmos
Title: Vieraan Taivaan Alla
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Vieraan Taivaan Alla is the third album from Kosmos, a folk-prog band from Finland whose last album, Polku, was reviewed on by myself. The new album continues where the last one left off leaning towards a heavier element without becoming metal.. The band consist of Aapo Helenius (guitar, bass, drums, tambura, mellotron, bells) Päivi Kylmänen (vocals, guitar), Kimmo Lähteenmäki (drums), Kari Vainionpää (guitar, bass), Olli Valtonen {Shrutibox) and Ismo Virta (mellotron, glockenspiel, effects)

One of the bands they remind me of is early version of White Willow, circa 1995 with it‘s soft yet heavy folk-symphonic rock sound. Just as the previous albums, the lyrics are all sung in Finnish. To help understand what is going on, the band has included an English version of their website.

The entire album flows seamlessly which for the ultimate musical experience, should be played loud, and listened to in one sitting. It’s barely 40 minutes long, so it’s not going to be a mammoth undertaking. The highlight for me is the 3 part epic, Vieraat Saapuvat (The Strangers Arrive). It’s the most “exciting” sounding piece of the album. It leans more to a heavy pysch/symphonic vibe than the first part of the album. Almost a schizophrenic evolving sound.

In closing, if you enjoy Scandinavian folk/rock then this little gem is a nice acquisition for you. Also this is for the folk/rock/symphonic sounds of Magenta, Mostly Autumn that stays clear of a modern “mainstream” result. I would also suggest seeking out their other albums, especially Polku. Very recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on Novemeber 8th, 2009


01. Unenton Enkeli
02. Luovun
03. Renee
04. Don Juan
05. Tuulisina Paivina
06-09. Vieraat

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.