Artist/ Band: Illusion
Title: Turbulence And Tranquility
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

Additional web links

The Review:

Hailing from Detroit, Michigan, rock band Illusion released Turbulence And Tranquility in 2009, just about 4 years after their previous album, Sleight Of Hand. Stylistically the music is done in about the same style yet the new album has a more modern appeal to it. The band consists of Doug Tucker (lead vocals, guitars), John Patrick (guitar, Hammond organ, vocals), Jon Roybal (drums, vocals), and Ron Smith (bass, vocals).

I must mention that Doug has a rather unique yet familiar sounding voice, combined with the rest of the band are vital components that reach back to the days when rock and roll music was still pure. Thereís also an added modern element in the formula that honestly sounds like nothing I ever heard in a long while.

All of the songs are within the 2:30 and 6:10 minute marks. They never outstay their welcome. In fact, each time I listen to the album I hear new sounds as well as feel like Iím revisiting an old friend. The entire album really needs to be listened to all the way through, so set aside an hour, sit back and enjoy the hard rocking sounds of Illusion.

I would strongly recommend Turbulence And Tranquility to fans of pure classic hard rock that borders on the modern edge. The whole album has memorable yet complex melodies and catchy songs which should appeal to both hard rock and progressive rock fans alike.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on August 24th, 2010


01. Now Is The Nothing
02. Bible Black
03. I Am What Might Have Been
04. Of Time And The River
05. You Lied
06. All Too Clearly
07. The Despised
08. Tapping
09. Immaculate Deception
10. Die A Little More Tonight
11. A Winter's Tale
12. Nevermore
13. His Shell

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.