Artist/ Band: Brother Ape
Title: On The Other Side
Label: Progress Records
Year of Release: 2005
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

I wasn’t sure what to expect from a band called Brother Ape but I always welcome new music, When I received a copy of their On The Other Side, I immediately took a listen. From that first listen I found that I would enjoy the whole album.

Now several listens later, I can boldly say this is a top-notch rock album with some progressive moments throughout. This is one of those bands that sit right on the border of two musical worlds, which can be a nice introduction to prog for newcomers. Their style of music is on the more accessible side of the progressive rock spectrum, yet it will take several listens especially for the vocals. Not that Peter Dahlström’s vocals are bad, just that they’re unique.... unique enough to be original. By the way Peter also is the bass player of the band, and quite a good one too!

This is one of the more fun releases of 2005 and will probably end up on many top picks of 2005. I would recommend this CD to fans of Saga, Sylvan, Cryptic Vison and most of the rest of the bands on Progress Records. I can’t wait for what Brother Ape does next!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on August 30th, 2005


01. The Jerk
02. Waiting For The Sandman
03. I Freak Out
04. Railways
05. Clockworks
06. This Hour
07. Unaccomplished
08. Farewell Song
09. Lucky Fool
10. On The Other Side

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.