Artist/ Band: Ayreon
Title: -01011001-
Label: InsideOut Music
Year of Release: 2008
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

After 4 years, Ayreon returns with a new double epic album called 01011001, which seems to carry on stories from previous releases. Joining main man, Arjen Lucassen this time are Floor Jansen (After Forever) and Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering), Ty Tabor (King’s X), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Phideaux Xavier, Simone Simons (Epica), Daniel Gildenlöw (Pain of Salvation), Jorn Lande, Bob Catley (Magnum) and Tom England (Evergrey) on vocal duties. On instruments, the following guests add their touch, Michael Romeo (Symphony X), Lori Linstruth (ex-Stream of Passion), Tomas Bodin (The Flower Kings) and Derek Sherinian (Planet X).

As previous releases, the music borders on various styles within the metal genres (power, progressive & gothic). While not bringing anything new to the mix, Ayreon seems to be solidifying their brand of music with each release. One thing I’d like to hear is more diversity, perhaps something outside the metal and hard rock worlds. I do like what is on this album, it did take me a few listens to appreciate it. I find this music to be under the ‘fun’ category and shouldn’t be deeply analyzed . It has great instrumentation, some cheesy lyrics and amazing vocal stylings

If you enjoyed the previous Ayreon releases and the work of the guests then I’d recommend you getting a copy ASAP. It does come in different versions, so it’s up to you which one to purchase. You can hear some of the music on Ayreon’s MySpace page to help your ears.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 6th, 2008


Disc 1 - Y

1. Age of Shadows − 10:47
2. Comatose − 4:26
3. Liquid Eternity − 8:10
4. Connect the Dots − 4:13
5. Beneath the Waves − 8:26
6. Newborn Race − 7:49
7. Ride the Comet − 3:29
8. Web of Lies − 2:50

Disc 2 - EARTH

1. The Fifth Extinction − 10:29
2. Waking Dreams − 6:31
3. The Truth Is In Here − 5:12
4. Unnatural Selection − 7:15
5. River of Time − 4:24
6. E=MC² − 5:50
7. The Sixth Extinction − 12:18

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.