Artist/ Band: Syngularity
Title: The 7th Dimension
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2007
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

1. Who is the band? What is their history? What motivates them?

“Syngularity started 1997 with a couple of melodic electronica tracks. Sometimes we touch the symphonic/soundtrack genre, and we also love to include elements of rock and a special sound design (using hardware devices like Roland and Korg and fine virtual solutions created by Steinberg, Spectrasonics, HG Fortune and many others). International singers and instrumentalists are always involved, and we enjoy working together with all these talented artists who help us to keep the musical output colorful and fresh” (Syngularity‘s MySpace page).

2. Why did they make this album? What was the passion or message that forced them to produce what they have? Or, simply what was their motivation for the themes they chose for this album?

This was Syngularity’s album released in August 2007. This was an elaborate collaboration between many talented musicians to update the Syngularity sound.

3. What message are they delivering through their lyrics and music?

1.Anaximander – Cool synths and sound effects before almost pipe organ sounds open with symbols that sound like dripping water. Then that ‘Gilmour – like’ guitar solo rips through the air followed by more keys and synths. Pascal and the band definitely know how to open an album well. The almost bubbling sound of water and all sorts of sounds coming at you from all directions before a steady beat begins, featuring drums, solo guitar and synths.

2. Hawking – Cool computerized noises then tapping drums and synths fill the room and you are surrounded with more entertaining sounds which take you away from life’s everyday pursuits to a land of escape and wherever you want to dream to go. Precise and timed perfectly just like Hawking himself. With a hint of the beyond.. A great tribute song.

3. She’s So Fine – Slow, quiet, majestic opening to this song filled with synths and dreamy echo sounds. The guitar leaps out in front with drum support and we are off on another adventure in sound. Great guitar work from RedEyeC!

4. Physics of Toys – This almost has a Caribbean steel drum sound to it, after the synthesizer opening. You can imagine Christmas and the toys moving around the tree on their own..

5. The Constant H – Very sinister kind of opening to this one. Synths and rhythmic beating back and forth around the speakers. The dulled sound of glasses of water being played which adds to the original effect. Sounds that cause your entire sense of hearing to perk up and try to catch everything all at once. These types of songs must be played over and over again to get the full effect of all that is being presented to you.

6. Appearance of Anything – Slow methodological opening using synths and eerie effects that surround you before a familiar Larry Fast Synergy sound takes over. Then synthesized strings pull through and create that relaxing effect that tranquilizes before the drum machine sound kicks back. Yes, the appearance of anything is possible in this track.

7. One Foot on the Floor – Drums and what sounds like a pool cue and balls being knocked around the table. Then a danceable disco sounding beat takes over with a familiar Caribbean steel drum sound. Then the guitars pick up the pace.

8. Dream Vortex – Slow spacey opening welcoming you to the center of dreams, before the synths and danceable rhythm take over. Chorded synths and sounds fill the room. Then Syngularity adds sounds of every kind to open the mind to the vortex of dreams. Try listening to this or any other song on the album at loud volume to achieve the full effect.

9.. Tomorrow’s Yesterday – A rocker, or at least it starts out that way. Guitar and synths open this with a jazz/bluesy rhythm. The guitar solo is wonderful. Steve Hackett style fast picking electric guitar with synths surrounding everything. Voices add effect, but it’s difficult to distinguish what is being said. The sounds of bells complete the mix.

10. Ocean – Whale like sounds and the gentle jazzy sound of sax and the surf rolling in and out. Then the piano brings home that wonderful elegance that makes this my favorite. Seagulls and the sound of the surf with piano accompaniment. Then that sax in and out adding to the jazzy effect of sitting on the edge of the ocean relaxing and taking in the sights.

11. M Theory – Magical synths open this one, before drums and female tribal vocal sounds are introduced. Guitar takes over with synths and drum as the rhythm builds.

12. Waking Life – Drum and guitar rhythm with spoken word. The spoken word is hard to distinguish because you get so involved with all the sounds of synths and music running around this song.

13. The 7th Dimension – A hold over from the Constellations album no doubt. A real tribute to Alan Parson’s The Voice, off my favorite, I Robot. There is a definite sound which brings back memories of this wonderful song. But Syngularity has added their own sounds and left out the vocals. Imagine The Voice without the voice and with bells and other sounds added.

14. Her Oasis – Piano opens this closer. This is a piano piece with strings and bass. Then the full band kicks in with drums, full synths and guitar. The power builds into anthem levels as the song reaches its climax. The ripping guitar solo at 3:35 just lifts this song into the stratosphere and beyond.

4. Does this music improve, change, or add to the genre? What does the listener receive from listening to the music?

It is in a genre of its own and it is another wonderful contribution to the world of ambient art music. Yes, this is original music combining many different formats, styles and talents. The artwork for this album adds to complete the effect.

4. Does it have longevity? Is it something a fan will like to play again and again?

This music is very deep and complex and the programming and synth/guitar drum rhythms just take the listener to another place. I will listen to this often to try to hear all that has been delivered in this music.

Rating: 9/10 – Not sure how in this genre you can do anything better. Very original. Pascal and his friends are making music that never gets old or boring. Only limitation is its accessibility. Best if listened to with headphones or at full volume at a club. Sounds great in the car driving at night, especially in the rain.

Reviewed by Prof on September 30th, 2009


01. Anaximander
02. Hawking
03. She's So Fine
04. Physics Of Toys
05. The Constant H
06. Appearance Of Anything
07. One Foot On The Floor
08. Dream Vortex
09. Tomorrow's Yesterday
10. Ocean
11. M Theory
12. Waking Life
13. The 7th Dimension
14. Her Oasis

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.