Artist/ Band: Roger Powell
Title: Fossil Poets
Label: Inner Knot
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

My first exposure to Roger Powell’s solo work was when a friend highly recommended me to get Cosmic Furnace based on my listening habits. Upon hearing it I must admit to not warming up to it. In fact it took several listens to fully appreciate the beauty. I’m not versed in the electronic music genre, so I have really no experience as to who or what to compare to. However I can explain it my likings to others that are new to the genre.

In 2006 Roger, now signed on the same label (Inner Knot) as King Crimson, Robert Fripp, John Paul Jones, and Bill Bruford, released his latest solo album titled Fossil Poets. It’s quite different than Cosmic Furnace, in a way of a more updated style. Joining Roger is guitarist Greg Koch, and additional synths and production by Gary Tanin. Other instruments Roger aside from many keyboards, uses mandolin, flugelhorn, and flute.

Even after several listens, Fossil Poets is one of those albums that constantly open my aural senses. It’s going to be one of those albums that will take more time to fully digest but one that will get repeat listens. I would recommend this to Roger’s fans foremost as well as music fans such as myself that are constantly looking for more adventurous music. I believe Fossil Poets is one of the better releases of 2006.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on January 10th, 2007


1. Lone Gunmen
2. Fallout Shelter
3. Delayed Reaction
3. Test Drive
4. Crème Fraiche
5. Too Much Rain
6. Underwater City
7. Dauphine
8. Tribe By Fire
9. Miles Per Gallon
10. Peaceful Uprising
11. Serpentine
12. Zentegrity
13. Osmosis
14. Astrae

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.