Artist/ Band: Mister Kite
Title: Box Of Fear
Label: Lion Music
Year of Release: 2004
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

I received Box of Fear, the second album from Mister Kite and was expecting more of the same neo-classical metal that Lion Music is famous (or if you will, infamous) for. Boy was I pleasantly surprised at the modern sound Mister Kite has. It’s almost out of place on the label but it may open the door to a more diverse group of bands on the label in the future.

The music is dark angst ridden based with some progressive twists here and there. It would definite fit in with the nu-metal scene and would help win over more of the youth to the progressive side of the music world..For a Swedish band, their sound is more American rooted which can be good or bad depending on your point of view. The emotional vocals, moody melodies, smart lyrics and an overall edge give Mister Kite a distinctly different sound that puts them in a postion of being a “bridge” between mainstream and progressive. A stepping stone if you will.

The highlights of this disc for me are the moving “How Long” which reminds me a bit of Linkin Park and the album’s first single “The Hunger” which are both musical gems. This is good stuff folks. If you like your music on the heavy side but with clean vocals, pick up Box of Fear!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 17th, 2004


1. From This Day On
2. How Long
3. Evil Bob
4. I Know You Know
5. Into Nothing
6. In This Room
7. State
8. Do Your Worst
9. The Hunger
10. Box of Fear

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.