Artist/ Band: Man On Fire
Title: Habitat
Label: ProgRock Records
Year of Release: 2005
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

The latest CD from Man On Fire, Habitat is somewhat of a concept album. Itís based on a variety of different peopleís lives existing on a single city block. Each track is a about a different person on the block. This is a modern day concept album with very few references (if any) to older progressive rock bands. In fact, to my ears, Man On Fire stands on itís own musically, almost without any influences showing.

Being that this is a modern progressive rock album, some fans of the genre (the "prog-snobs in general) would cry ďfoulĒ but Man On Fire proves that being a progressive rock band, they need to continue forward not backward. They do so very well on Habitat. Joining Jeff Hodges (keys, vocals) and Eric Sands (bass) are two prog legends, guitarist Adrian Belew and former Kansas violinist David Ragsdale.

Man on Fire have the ability to bring a modern twist to the progressive rock genre. A fresh twist, even if itís song based. They also have the ability to be a cross-over act without losing any artistic freedom they have so enjoyed so far. My favorite track is actually the title track, Habitat. To me it showcases what the whole concept is all about as well as the musical content of the whole album. Habitat will take several listens to fully appreciate itís beauty. Once it does, you have a fantastic album to revisit in the months and years to come!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on June 30th, 2005


1. The Block
2. Mr. Lie
3. Majestic
4. Beast Inside
5. Street Game
6. What The Canvas Hides
7. Might Is Right
8. Curtain Call
9. Shelter
10. Love Never Lost
11. Broken
12. Habitat.

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.