Artist/ Band: Machine Mass (featuring Dave Liebman)
Title: Inti
Label: MoonJune
Year of Release: 2014
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

"Inti" is the latest release from Machine Mass (formerly Machine Mass Trio) and is a powerhouse of Miles-esque jazz fusion. Born as a side project of the progressive jazz band douBt, Machine Mass features American born (but since relocating to Europe) drummer/percussionist Tony Bianco and Belgian guitarist Michel Delville who also adds electronics and Roland GR-09.

Bianco should need no introduction to jazz fans as he has worked with many top class musicians including Elton Dean, Evan Parker, Anthony Jackson and Dave Liebman who is also featured on this disc.

"Inti" was recorded live in the studio at Red Rock Recording Studios in Saylorburg, PA, on October 10, 2012 with no overdubs in just one afternoon. This alone can tell the listener that their avant garde approach to music is both dynamic and improvisational. As expected, there is a heavy emphasis on saxophone and wooden flute with Dave Liebman on board who has been wowing jazz fans for decades with his mastery as saxophonist and flautist.

In June 2010, he received a NEA Jazz Masters lifetime achievement award from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Mass Machine utilitizes his talents as both artist and teacher heavily in this album by means of featuring him front and center in every track. That being said, Bianco and Delville are seasoned musicians in their own right and do an amazing job of improvising over some very unpredictable and creative time changes.

Of the nine tracks, all are original compositions except the Miles Davis classic "In a Silent Way".

Guest vocalist Saba Tewelde is featured on the track "The Secret Place"

Fans of Miles Davis, Liebman and breathtaking improvisational jazz will find CD to be a special treat.

Reviewed by John Longo on July 8th, 2014


01. Inti (7:27)
02. Centipede (4:41)
03. Lloyd (6:24)
04. In a Silent Way (6:29)
05. A Sight (6:37)
06. Utoma (6:09)
07. The Secret Place (4:33)
08. Elisabeth (12:46)
09. Voice (4:53)

Copyright 1998-2014,, All Rights Reserved.