Artist/ Band: Unified Past
Title: Observations
Label: Melodic Revolution Records
Year of Release: 2011
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

In 2011 a band called Unified Past released their 6th album since 1993. It was recorded as a duo of Stephen Speelman (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Victor Tassone (drums) and Guest musician Vinny Krivacsy (keyboards). Since the album released, they became a trio with Dave Mickelson (bass) joining the band. They’re currently seeking a keyboardist. I’m sure that will free up Stephen to concentrate on guitar and vocals.

Their brand of progressive rock is a mixture of symphonic rock, heavy prog as well as some minimal AOR moments. There are two bands that I’m reminded of Cryptic Vision and Salem Hill each time I listen to Observations. I feel that Unified Past while similar to those bands, has their own unique sound. I would even add 80s & 90s editions of Kansas to the influences I hear.

From the heavy hitting opening “I’m Not Answering” to keyboard/guitar heavy “Here They Come” (the latter is similar to UK - Danger Money album in the instrumentation) the listener is treated to a solid album with no filler.

Other than “I’m Not Answering”, personal highlights are “Faithless” which is the longest track on the album as well as the more accessible “The Move”. I will implore the listener to listen all the way through the album with no distractions to fully appreciate it’s beauty.

In closing, I highly recommend Observations to any fan of melodic prog/rock as well as the aforementioned bands.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 28, 2012

Additional Link


01. I'm Not Answering
02. Mr. Extravagant
03. Insulated
04. Crushed
05. Exploratory Observations
06. Painful Observations
07. The Move
08. Mesmerized
09. Faithless
10. Remember When
11. Here They Come

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.