Artist/ Band: The Underground Railroad
Title: The Origin of Consciousness
Label: L, DM
Year of Release: 2005
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Itís been quite a wait since The Underground Railroad released their debut release Through and Through, five years to be exact. I as well as many others in the prog community were beginning to wonder about their future. Then about a month or so ago, the band made an announcement of their new CD The Origin of Consciousness which had obviously answered our questions and hopes. I guess the old saying, "all good things comes to those that wait", is quite relevant here.

Not only did they follow up their symphonic Canterbury fusion based hybrid sound they added some more avant styling to the mix. This in my opinion secures that The Underground Railroad is by far one of the more original bands of the new millennium,

While their debut Through And Through was a fantastic release, I do believe they surpassed themselves on all levels with their new CD. Just like in their previous release, it is filled with wonderful vocal harmonies, as well as top-notch (dare I say vastly underrated) musicianship provided by guitarist Bill Pohl, keyboard player Kurt Rongey, bassist Matt Hembree, and drummer John Livingston.

After listening to both of The Underground Railroad albums, itís clear to me that they can pay homage to the greats of the 70'swhile not sounding retro or derivative. Mind you, their sound is firmly rooted in the modern age that would appeal to symphonic and fusion fans alike. Like all good music, it requires several listens to fully appreciate itís greatness and importance in progressive music. I canít recommend this CD enough. In fact if you havenít already done so, treat yourself to both releases. Your ears will be thanking you ten fold.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on September 13th, 2005


1. Julian Ur
2. Julian I
3. Love Is A Vagabond King
4. Halo
5. The Canal At Sunset
6. Metaphor
7. Creeper (The Doorman, Pt. 2)
8. Julian II

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.