Artist/ Band: The Divine Baze Orchestra
Title: Once We Were Born...
Label: Transubstans Records
Year of Release: 2007
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

Ever since the early 90’s, Sweden has been the center of the progressive rock revival. Later in that decade they began a wave of 70’s retro sounding bands but with an originality that would make the bands of yesteryear quite proud. Joining the ranks of the new millennium of retro bands is The Divine Baze Orchestra . They combine the best elements of old Black Sabbath, Deep Purple-like keyboards with the main ingredient of what Uriah Heep achieved. They are by far clones or wannabes. In my opinion they produce original and enjoyable music and that’s what it’s all about.

The Divine Baze Orchestra also bring back an element of humor, just like fellow countrymen Beardfish. They are quite as epic as Beardfish or even Black Bonzo but they are equally as important music wise. I find the music to be very enjoyable, mainly because they encompass everything I love about the 70’s prog, hard rock, psychedelic and folk music.

My favorite tracks are “Little Man”, “The Man From My Mothers Brother” and the closing song, “Burned By The Sun”. These three songs, in my opinion shows the band’s finest moments. I would recommend The Divine Baze Orchestra to the above mentioned bands as well as anything art/progressive rock of the 70’s.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on June 19th, 2008


1. Dance
2. Choose your green
3. Troda di Mare
4. Orange and Turquoise
5. In Search
6. Little Man
7. The Person
8. The Man from my Mother's Brother
9. Closing the circle
10. Burned by the sun

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.