Artist/ Band: Sirca
Title: Sirca
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

1. Why did they make this album? What was the passion or message that forced them to produce what they have? Or, simply what was their motivation for the themes they chose for this album?

“Sirca is an original 7 piece band from Adelaide, Australia.” “The current lineup began in early 2007 and has been performing regularly since.” “Sirca have gained popularity and respect within the local musical community.” “With a mix of different styles and sounds, they tread genres of alternative, funk, fusion, folk, and acoustic rock.” “With a strong percussion feel, Sirca ventures into the 'world' category, and include odd times, and changes to their original compositions which adds to their unique sound(Sirca’s MySpace 2010).”

2. What message are they delivering through their lyrics and music? Tim Irrgang is the percussionist with Unitopia. Sirca is his local band which he tours with when Unitopia is not touring or recording. As a friend of Unitopia, I wanted to review Tim and Sirca’s debut album.

1. Chameleon Life – Violin and acoustic guitar start this one off, followed by percussion and piano. Great beat and building rhythm. Vocals driven song about how we change and progress through life. The sax and peak moments in the middle really lift this one. Just try not to move to this beat. Great female supporting vocals adding to the vocal power. The blasting instrumental in the middle, after a cool guitar riff just propels this one as the congas and percussion take over with all instruments blazin’. Starts off slow, but builds quickly and finishes strong.

2. Dance for Me – Nice running acoustic guitar rhythm supported by percussion, violin and drums. Very nice early Dave Matthews sound to this one. Similar but different. Keeley’s vocals are higher pitched than Dave Matthews providing an original sound.

3. Unabandoned – Slowly played acoustic guitar and sax. This one almost sounds like a Dave Matthews song. Kinda of a mix of Let You Down, What Would You Say, and #34. But that is only the opening. The momentum builds and the power of the instrumentation and vocals lifts the song well.

4. Die Laughing – More early DMB sounds, especially the percussion, violin and sax. Nice violin solos and riffs, balanced well with the sax. Nice instrumental jamming. Brings back memories of early DMB.

5. God Fearing People – Nice quiet opening with acoustics, percussion and violin. The violin on this one is very prevalent and really highlights this song well. The jams are great.

6. One Woman Man – Acoustic guitar and violin open this song. Some of the best vocals on the album. The band jam here is spectacular.

7. Mr. Blank – Nice acoustic guitar opening and then that drum and sax salute that DMB made famous. The extra percussion in the background really separates this from DMB’s early material. A true instrumental track and an opportunity for the band to show off its licks with some nice jamming. The bass figures more prominently on this song. The sax solos bring back memories of Leroi and concerts at the Gorge.

8. Field of Minds – Another nice acoustic guitar opening. Then the violin, drums, and percussion. Fun song and a nice kick back easy listener.

3. Does this music improve, change, or add to the genre? What does the listener receive from listening to the music?

No, but it brings back great memories of early Dave Matthews Band. An original sound with enough of a similarity as a reminder, but definitely built with their own lyrics and sounds.

4. Does it have longevity? Is it something a fan will like to play again and again?

Yes, I listen to it often.

Rating: 8/10 – Solid early Dave Matthews Band influences but they need to do more jamming on their songs to show off the intensity and ability they naturally posses as musicians. Very good debut, with room to grow.

Reviewed by Prof on February 7th, 2010


01. Chameleon Life
02. Dance For Me
03. Unabandoned
04. Die Laughing
05. God Fearing People
06. One Woman Man
07. Mr. Blank
08. Field Of Minds

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.