Artist/ Band: Sanhedrin
Title: Ever After
Label: Fading Records
Year of Release: 2011
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Israeli instrumental progressive rock band Sanhedrin has it’s beginning in 1998 but it wasn’t until 2011 that hat they released their debut album, Ever After. The band consists of Gadi Ben Elisha (guitars), Sagi Barness (bass), Aviv Barness (keyboards), Igal Baram (drums) and Shem-Tov Levi (flute). Originally conceived as a Camel cover band, they seem to have evolved beyond that and incorporated other influences including nods to Pink Floyd, Genesis, Jethro Tull and King Crimson to name a few.

From the opening track “Overtura” (3:07) to the closing track “Steam” (9:30), the listener is treated to some beautifully played music with the aforementioned influences as reference points. My favorites of the album at the epic, “Il Tredici” (11:46), “Dark Age” (6:18) which was dedicated to the late Arik Hayat of Sympozion, and “Timepiece” (5:30). I feel these tracks show a signature sound for the band to use as a template for future recordings.

If you like instrumental music, that incorporate a classic symphonic/progressive rock sound, and the growing community of the progressive rock genre in Israel then look no further than Sanhedrin and it’s debut album Ever After. They join the ranks of the latest wave of amazing Israeli progressive rock bands like Behind The Sun, Ephrat, Trespass and many more. In short, Ever After is highly recommended.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on August 18th, 2011


01. Overture (3:07)
02. Il Tredici (11:46)
03. Dark Age (6:18)
04. The Guillotine (6:00)
05. Timepiece (5:30)
06. Sobriety (8:19)
07. Tema (1:08)
08. Steam (9:30)

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.