Artist/ Band: Retrospective
Title: Lost In Perception
Label: Progressive Promotions Records
Year of Release: 2012
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Progressive Promotions Records is fast becoming my favorite source for new music discoveries. This German label has exposed the world to a variety of new and interesting international artists covering all phases of the progressive rock genre from progressive metal to melodic symphonic art rock - featuring talented new artists and old favorites who have found a new home. And Poland's progressive metal group Retrospective has proven to be a perfect fit for the label, with their latest 2012 release "Lost In Perception". This is the follow-up to their well received 2007 debut EP "Spectrum Of The Green Morning" and 2008 album "Stolen Thoughts".

Retrospective has quietly gained a reputation in the Polish prog community alongside fellow artists Riverside as the premiere progressive metal artists of the country by combining elements of Queensryche, King Crimson, Dream Theater, Muse, Pink Floyd, Porcupine Tree, and Pearl Jam. Vocalist Jakub Roszak has deep booming vocals reminiscent of Pearl Jam's Eddie Vedder with the dramatic emotional delivery of Queensryche's Geoff Tate. And when Roszak and female vocalist Beata Lagonda combine - that's when the magic occurs ... like on the tracks "Lunch", "Ocean Of Little Thoughts" and "Swallow The Green Tones". The vocal duet of Roszak and Lagonda brings to mind the dynamic pairing of Geoff Tate and vocalist Pamela Moore on many of the better Queensryche tunes.

"Lost In Perception" doesn't have quite the same emotional impact as "Stolen Thoughts" yet still packs something of a wallop. Maybe I expected more considering the four year span between "Thoughts" and "Lost"; although instrumentally the arrangements are much fuller and layered, with a lot going on. And the nicely subdued - yet haunting keyboard work from Lagoda augments the blistering guitar dominated compositions.

The members include: Jakub Roszak (vocals), Beata Lagoda (keyboards, vocals), Maciej Klimek (guitars), Lukasz Marszalek (bass), Alan Szczepaniak (guitars), Robert Kusik (drums).

With bombastic moments of controlled aggression and blistering dynamics their guitar dominated music is firmly in the prog metal camp and should greatly appeal to fans of the genre.

Reviewed by Joseph Shingler on February 20th, 2013


01. The End Of Winter Lethargy (5:30)
02. Huge Black Hole (3:58)
03. Egoist (5:32)
04. Lunch (6:34)
05. Our Story Is Beginning Now (3:58)
06. Tomorrow Will Change (6:19)
07. Musical Land (4:23)
08. Ocean Of A Little Thoughts (3:45)
09. Swallow The Green Tones (10:34)

Copyright 1998-2013,, All Rights Reserved.