Artist/ Band: Relocator
Title: Relocator
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

Additional web links

The Review:

Relocator is an instrumental jazz-fusion band that utilizes progressive metal elements. Formed in 2004 in Germany, the band consists of Stefan Artwin (guitars, programming), Michael Pruchnicki (bass, fretless bass), Frank Tinge (drums, percussion), Bartek Strycharski (electric violin), and special guest Derek Sherinian (keyboards).

One thing I noticed right off is unlike other modern jazz-fusion bands with a metallic slant, theirs is minimal soloing. This made it very enjoyable for me as I’m not fond with most soloing or noodling as some say.

Each of the songs are well structured with little to no improvisations. Songs rang from 6 to 11 minutes. Some of my favorites are “Biosphere” (8:02), “Aavishkar” (10:33), and closing track, “The Alchemist” (11:32). To me, these three tracks show off the band’s versatility. The rest follow suit.

As for being one of the better instrumental fusion or progressive rock/metal albums to come across my desk, I’d have to give it a very strong recommendation. Fans of Planet X, Derek Sherinian (solo) and newcomers Fibonacci Sequence will need to investigate Relocator and invest in it‘s self titled debut ASAP!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on September 16th, 2010


01. Red Vibes
02. Biosphere
03. Relocator
04. Proxima
05. Aavishkar
06. 13 Reasons
07. Urban Blue
08. The Alchemist

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.