Artist/ Band: North Atlantic Oscillation
Title: Grappling Hooks
Label: Kscope Records
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Grappling Hooks, the debut album by North Atlantic Oscillation, fuses flawlessly elements of post-rock, synth pop and electronica. The duo responsible are Ben Martin (percussion, programming, synths) and Sam Healy (vocals, guitar, bass, saxophone). Briefly, they met in Edinburgh in 2005 and over the years developed their craft with amazing results, as heard on their debut album.

Some of the highlights of the album for me are the prog based "Hollywood Has Ended" (4:55), to the hypnotic synth pop of "Cell Count" (4:57), to synth prog sounds on "77 Hours" (5:08), to metallic pop sounding instrumental “Star Chamber” (3:14) which has an early Eno vibe . I’ll add the closing track "Ritual" (7:08), to my favorites off this album. It’s a perfect ending to a wonderful album. It starts out as a dreamy ballad then ends in a rocking fashion.

In closing, Grappling Hooks has slowly become one of my favorite debuts in 2010. At first I wasn’t sure what to think but I patiently waited and was rewarded ten fold. I would highly recommend North Atlantic Oscillation to fans of other bands on the K-Scope record label as well as Radiohead and Sigur Ros.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 25th, 2011


01. Marrow
02. Hollywood Has Ended
03. Cell Count
04. Some Blue Hive
05. Audioplastic
06. Ceiling Poem
07. Alexanderplatz
08. 77 Hours
09. Star Chamber
10. Drawing Maps From Memory
11. Ritual

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.