Artist/ Band: Mitchell Froom
Title: A Thousand Days
Label: Kontext Records
Year of Release: 2004
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Mitchell Froom is best known as a producer and has been around since the late 70's but his well known work didn’t happen until the mid '80s, when he produced albums such as Crowded House’s debut, Richard Thompson’s Daring Adventures, and Paul McCartney’s Flowers in the Dirt. He’s also produced albums by Los Lobos, Elvis Costello and Randy Newman to name a few.

In the 1980's he recorded two albums under his name, 1984’s The Key of Cool and 1998’s Dopamine. The latter according to Mitchell's website and promo sheet, was filled with conceptualized songs and guest appearances from artists he’s produced in the past. Then came his latest album entitled, A Thousand Days, which is just Mitchell solo on piano which contains 14 songs that are under the 3 minute mark. If you listen closely, you'll hear that each of the songs seques right into the next. Since this is a solo piano album, the music is on the mellow side, so don’t expect any fireworks or flashy playing. What you do find is a somber romantic cinematic feeling throughout the album. Some of the tracks on the CD can be used as a mood music or something to relax to after a long day at the office.

This is a very nice album but I can’t say it’s one of those albums that will knock anyone’s socks off though. It is perfect for fans of solo piano playing.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on October 11th, 2005


1. A Thousand Days
2. 1965
3. This Morning
4. Trip To Heaven
5. Tomorrow In June
6. Silhouettes
7. A Lullaby
8. Some Blue Song
9. Sanctuary
10. Whisperland
11. Everytime I Close My Eyes
12. Tuesday
13. Falling From The Sea
14. If

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.