Artist/ Band: Matt Stevens
Title: Ghost
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

I was asked by Matt Stevens via Facebook to review his music. When I saw Ďacoustic rockí as a description on my Windows Media Player, I was a little reluctant but I gave it ago and several listens later Iíve grown to really like the way Matt Stevens plays acoustic guitar. Now I might get some flack with the next sentence but I donít care because itís my opinion. Matt Stevens is the new Robert Fripp or Eno, for the newer generations, by way of post-rock.

The latest offering by Matt is called Ghost. It was released in 2010 through his website. Itís available in two formats, and a digital where you pay what you feel itís worth or nothing at all. I would encourage payment if you go the digital route. Itís well worth your hard earned cash.

While the entire Ghost is amazing, I found myself drawn from Track 6 onward with my favorites to be ďLake ManĒ (6:17) and ďMoondialĒ (4:09) the latter sounds more like a band effort than a solo one. Each time I listen to Ghost, I hear new sounds especially since I listen via headphones.

While this album is primarily soundscapes, it never gets boring like some of the well know artists that employ soundscapes. After several listens after Ghost first arrived, Iíve come to the conclusion that fans of the afore mentioned artists and fans of Steve Hackett and even Anthony Phillips, then Ghost is a no-brainer. Again if you choose to go the digital route, please give generously, so that Matt Stevens can continue to make beautiful music.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 29th, 2011


01. Into The Sea
02. Big Sky
03. Eleven
04. Draw
05. Burnt Out Car
06. Lake Man
07. Glide
08. 8.19
09. Ghost
10. Moondial

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.