Artist/ Band: Deux Accords Diront
Title: Eisherz
Label: Homerecords
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

I can’t say I’ve ever been more surprised at how a recording would sound than this band’s releases so far. Deux Accords Diront released their 3rd titled ‘Gardadvergur’ in 2006. That featured just the two musicians Anne Niepold and Aline Pohl, both on diatonic accordions. The huge variety of sound they produced on that was amazing to say the least. I somehow expected a good deal less creative and abstract composing and playing, not to say that everything is not easily digested and easy on the ears. The music is challenging and does things you don’t see coming. It has remained an admired disc in my music library. With their 4th release ‘Eisherz’ ( translates to ‘Heart of Ice’) they have outdone themselves, and that is saying plenty.

Deux Accords Diront (Two Chords Say It All) have been together 10 years and Anne has released some solos along the way. All their music has the freedom of some improvisational performance but yet it holds true with a framework of composed ideas. I have to give the CD booklet a vote of one of the most beautiful I have ever seen in this nice digi-pak. The music pushes and pulls borders and space, laying out everything from avant garde to statuesque arrangements of horns and accordion. This time they add more musicians to the table but stay all instrumental. The result is glorious and absolutely their best music to date. It’s great to have flugelhorn, trombones, saxophone, clarinet, euphonium, drums and percussion added into the brew. The listener is rewarded with more imagery, variation, textures, and exploration than ever. The compositions wax and wane often, and some seem to skate around you while you figure out just what genre to label them.

If I had to put this CD into one category, I’d have to say avant music for lack of a better term, which is not to my likening, as it brings the connotation of being difficult listening, or noise and indulgent experimentation. This is experimental in the fact that it does take chances, but mostly because it creates new ideas and does what progressive music should do. It’s all very easy to listen to and not a minute of distorted notes or nerve damaging frequencies ( *poking fun*). How to describe the music is tough, but it ranges from what seems like modified waltz, ballroom, semi avant jazz, world folk dance, theater, and soundtrack music. Once in a while you even have some humor introduced, so it is not far from Lars Hollmer at times. Check out track 7 (‘Im morgengrauen 8:08 ) for a great example of the Hollmer comparison, and it has excellant drums also. The moods swim from foreboding to cheerful, from lonely to massive, and from quite to insistent. I love the odd rhythms and cool combination of tones and instruments employed. You’ll like the subtle heart beat effects they toss in at random places too. In short, this is a lovely recording and holds a cherished place on the shelves of my collection. VERY RECOMMENDED!

Reviewed by Lee Henderson on May 9th, 2012


01. Coeur 1:41
02. Neige 6:40
03. Kaokao 2:54
04. Avé avoa 3:28
05. Les lieux du crime 4:35
06. Herzblatt 8:14
07. Im morgengrauen 8:08
08. Recidive 2:15
09. Eisherz 5:43
10. Ŕst 2:48
11. De battre... 0:29
12. La fin des haricots 5:07

Copyright © 1998-2012,, All Rights Reserved.