Artist/ Band: Delusion Squared
Title: Delusion Squared
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Delusion Squared is a brand new three piece progressive rock band from France. The band formed in 2009 and consists of Lorraine Young (lead vocals, guitars), Steven Francis (guitars, drums, keyboards) and Emmanuel de Saint Meen (bass, keyboards). This was pretty much the only information I could find about the band itself. As for their debut, it’s a concept album about a post-apocalyptic society. More so it’s about a girl that defies the society by getting pregnant thus being condemned to live with the outcasts of the society. She in turn becomes the leader of these people and after she dies, she’s considered a deity. Heavy stuff but not preachy, just a very cool and quite an original concept as far as I‘m concerned.

The album is divided into four suites, the first is called Remembrance which includes two tracks, “The Very Day” (4:09) and “In My Time Of Dying” (5:52).

The second suite is called Delusion and includes four tracks, “Copyrighted Genes” (7:06), “The Betrayal” (5:11), “Sentenced” (5:51) and “By The Lake (Mourning)” (3:12).

The third suite is called Enlightenment and includes three tracks, “By The Lake (Seeding)” (4:16), “Rebirth” (6:42) and “What We Will Be” (6:05).

The fourth and final suite is called Legacy and includes two tracks, “The Departure” (2:44) and “A Creation Myth” (7:49).

Overall this is one of the most amazing albums I’ve heard this year. I’ve listened to it several times and hear new things each time. This, to me, is a sign of a very good album. I can only imagine the direction the band will take on it’s next album. Based on this self titled debut, I feel we’re going to be treated to some excellent music in the years to come.

In closing, if you’re a fan of where the modern progressive rock scene is going or enjoy a very good concept album with well executed songs, then look no further than Delusion Squared. This is among the highest recommended albums of 2010.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on November 20th, 2010



01. The Very Day
02. In My Time Of Dying


03. Copyrighted Genes
04. The Betrayal
05. Sentenced
06. By The Lake (Mourning)


07. By The Lake (Seeding)
08. Rebirth
09.What We Will Be


10. The Departure
11. A Creation Myth

Copyright © 1998-2013,, All Rights Reserved.