Artist/ Band: CloverSeeds
Title: The Opening
Label: Laser's Edge
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Formed in 2004, Cloverseeds are part of the new breed of progressive rock. Instead of borrowing from the past, they look to the future and create some unique music. In 2010 the band released their second (first for the Laser‘s Edge label) entitled The Opening. Their first full length album, Innocence, was released in 2008 on a small French label. They also had two Eps (Shouting To None One - 2005 & Bunkers And Cathedrals - 2007). Other than their promo sheet (printed and virtual), there’s not much about the band.

The band currently consists of Chris Bodin (drums), Steph Barrier (bass), Fabrice Jacquet (guitars) and Ced Oleon (vocals). Together they create some emotional progressive based music with influences from Porcupine Tree, Tool, Riverside, Anathema and Incubus (mostly the vocals).

Over the past few months of listening to The Opening, I‘ve grown to like each of the nine songs but the highlights are the opening track, “Over Camellia” (4:02), the title track “The Opening” (6:01) and “Enough” (4:55). These three songs are the best representation of the album.

The Opening has earned it’s place amongst my Top 50 Favorite New Releases of 2010 entries. Now if that’s not enough to persuade you to own this release, then perhaps it being "highly recommended" for fans of the aforementioned bands would do so. You could also check out their myspace page for samples of this album.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 28th, 2011


01. Over Camellia
02. Fam(L)ar
03. Flowers
04. Higher
05. Brand New Day
06. Calling Me Down
07. The Opening
08. For Those...
09. Enough

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.