Artist/ Band: Ciccada
Title: A Child In The Mirror
Label: Fading Records
Year of Release: 2010
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

A new Greek sextet called Ciccada released it’s debut album, A Child In The Mirror” in 2010. Musically, Ciccada falls under the melodic, folk-tinged progressive rock that at times have a Scandinavian sound. The origins of Ciccada can be traced back to 2005 when Nicolas Nikolopoulos (flute, keyboards) and Yorgos Mouchos (guitars) met. They were soon joined by Evangelia Kozoni (lead vocals, accordion, percussion), and by the time they began recording for their debut, Omiros Komninos (bass) joined. There were also contributions from some session musicians to help flesh out the sound.

From the opening track “Ciccada” (4:38) to the closing track “A Garden Of Delights” (8:23), the listener is treated to some classic style progressive rock with a folk twist. There’s some moments throughout the album that remind me of the band Anglagard. Overall it’s quite original sounding.

If you enjoy folk-tinged progressive rock that has a classic non-retro sound than Ciccada is the band for you. I highly recommend A Child In The Mirror as one of the best recordings from 2010. I can’t wait to see what’s next for this band.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on November 8th, 2010


01. Ciccada
02. Isabella Sunset
03. Ena Pedi Ston Kathrefti - A Child In The Mirror
04. A Storyteller's Dream
05. Raindrops
06. An Endles Sea
07. Epirus - A Mountain Song
08. Elisabeth
09. I Stigmi - The Moment
10. A Garden Of Delights

Copyright © 1998-2010,, All Rights Reserved.