Artist/ Band: Big Hairy Monster
Title: Preview
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2005
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Watch out world, here comes Big Hairy Monster! The first sighting of Big Hairy Monster were found on a progressive rock forum called Progressive Ears. Now before you run and hide, this isnít a scary monster, on the contrary, itís quite friendly and very quirky. As time went on, it turned out that Big Hairy Monster was in fact a fantastic new progressive based rock band from Georgia I was one of the lucky ones that got their recording called Preview in my mailbox.

Upon several listens, Big Hairy Monsterís music is basically progressive in the truest sense of the word. I hate saying phrases like ďfuture of progĒ but in this case Big Hairy Monster is just that! They embody the very essence that the prog bands of the 70's without copying or cloning them.

On Preview, itís just that, a preview of whatís to come. The band says itís not a finished product but to my ears it sounds great. If this is any indication of whatís to come, then I canít wait to hear their debut and beyond.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on July 19th, 2005


1. Figuire Eight
2. View From The Borderline
3. Monkeyshines
4. Antithesis
5. Lake Motel, part 1
6. Grins & Crosses
7. Waiting
8. Open letter
9. Solitude Standing
10. Witless Banter
11. Four Squares and Seven Beers Ago
12. Shoebox

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2011,, All Rights Reserved.