Artist/ Band: Violent Silence
Title: Kinetic
Label: Progress Records
Year of Release: 2005
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Violent Silence consists of five musicians, founders Hannes Ljunghall & Bjorn Westen (keyboards) and Johan Hedman (drums), Phillip Bastin (bass) and Bruno Edling (vocals). The band ís sound on Kinetic, seems to bridge symphonic art rock with electronica (mostly because of the amount of keyboards). The bandís influences are Yes, UK and Genesis. Yet they donít really sound like any of those bands individually. The combined influences gives the band a somewhat original sound. There is a slight problem though, the vocals. It just kills some of the instrumental passages. I really wished theyíd limit the vocals or go 100% instrumental.

They have all the makings of a really good band, the instrumentation on all of the songs shows it. Normally I try not to be negative but the singer has a typical neo-prog style vocals from the early 90ís. That being said I enjoyed most of the album especially the 18 minute long Quiet Stalker, which to me is the only highlight of the album. All I can say is more of this please!

If you like most of the 90ís European symphonic progressive rock then youíll enjoy this. Sadly I really have to say this is one of the releases of 2006 that will be forgotten by most. Itís not bad, just not good enough to want to pull it out again.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on December 24th, 2006


1. Morning Star (2:16)
2. Kinetic (7:13)
3. Torrential Rains (6:20)
4. Night Lights (1:45)
5. Sky Burial (8:12)
6. Subzero (4:01)
7. Quiet Stalker (18:01)
8. Homesick (2:24)

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.