Artist/ Band: variosu Artists
Title: Progression In Balance Vol. 2
Label: Unicorn Digital
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Unicorn Records have been producing quality music since 1996. In late 2004, Unicorn Records released a compilation of their releases up until 2003 called Progression In Balance: Volume One. This 14 song compilation basically showcased the talent of such bands as Spaced Out, Xinema, MM Circle, Hamadryad, Heon, Addison Project and Talisma. Thus giving listeners a fantastic oversight of the bands on their label.

Now in 2006, they released a sequel compilation called Progression In Balance: Volume Two. The bands featured this time include new bands (since the last compilation) such as Parallel Mind, Little King, Dimension X, Ring of Myth, Retroheads, Nil, Upright, Vladimir Badirov Project, Kaos Moon, Alkemy as well as long standing bands such as Talisma and Hamadryad. Just like the previous compilation, the music ranges from jazz-fusion to experimental to symphonic to prog metal and all points in between.

This is a great starting point for those wishing to experience the music from the Unicorn Records label that was recorded between 2004-2006. Itís a perfect introduction to modern progressive based music as well as a welcomed addition to any experienced prog fanís collection.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on July 4th, 2006


1. Leviosa (TALISMA)
2. Eternal Light Avenue (KAOS MOON)
3. Abandon (NIL)
4. Greeting from Nostradamus (VLADIMIR BADIROV PROJECT)
5. Peacemaker (LITTLE KING)
6. The Guardian (PARALLEL MIND)
8. Nouveau Dťpart (UPRIGHT)
9. Inner Pulse (ALKEMY)
10. Into Phase (RING OF MYTH)
11. Alien Spheres (HAMADRYAD)
12. Taking my Time (RETROHEADS)

Reviewed Discography

Here are other related reviews at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.