Artist/ Band: Triptaka
Title: Second War
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Hailing from Seattle comes Triptaka, an alternative industrial rock band. Originally from Canada, the trio of Dave Kelly (guitars), James Chapple (synths) and Graeme Cornies (vocals) met in Ontario and relocated to Seattle. In 2007 they released their debut album SECOND WAR. Musically it sounds some electronica mixed in with similarities towards Nine Inch Nails, Tool, Tuner and UKZ but with a personality all of it‘s own. One thing I noticed right off is that there’s a slight progressive attitude in the songs, which give the band an originality over the typical industrial rock band.

Triptaka’s sound is both polished and dirty sounding that is dark and emotive. They have that brooding feeling especially in the vocal delivery. I would say, depending on your mood, that this album can be difficult to listen. I’d say, listen with an open mind, let it stir up the emotions rather than heighten yours. Even though the band is more alternative based than progressive, I feel they’re one of those bands that borders on the two genres. If you like the aforementioned bands, then this is recommended for you.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on April 15th, 2009


01. Suspended
02. Lost & Leading
03. Second War
04. Tamed
05. Mother
06. Slowburn
07. The Source
08. Falling Down
09. Don't You Think It's Time You Let Go?

Copyright � 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.