Artist/ Band: The Season Standard
Title: Squeeze Me Ahead Of Line
Label: Unsung
Year of Release: 2009
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Germany’s The Season Standard is a brand new band that incorporates many styles ranging from rock, electronica, jazz and modern progressive rock. Their debut album, Squeeze Me Ahead Of Line was produced by Markus Reuter (Tuner, Centozoon). They defy categorizing, although you can hear a mix of King Crimson, KTU, Tuner and The Mars Volta (mostly by the falsetto vocals of Mathias Jähnig, while not as frantic).Countering Mathias is the jazzy, complex time signatures created by drummer Simon Beyer. Trey Gunn (ex-King Crimson, KTU) adds some ‘touch’ guitar atmospherics on the track “Tisa”.

Squeeze Me Ahead Of Line due to defying categorization, could be a difficult listen but don’t write them off. Believe me it’s well worth the investing of your time to get into the music. It has to be the most “progressive” sound album of 2008. This is perfect for fans of the aforementioned bands as well as those that want something on the complex side.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on July 24th, 2009


01. A Seadog Grotesque
02. The Water Fellow
03. 12 Inches Of Noise Makes Disco
04. Kiara
05. Makkk
06. Xylan
07. Tisa
08. The Sheep Sheep
09. Super Push

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.