Artist/ Band: Strawberry Fields
Title: River's Run Dry
Label: Metal Mind Productions
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Strawberry Fields is one of the projects by Polish musician Wojtek Szadkowski, who’s best known for his work with Collage and in currently with Satellite. In fact, some of the members of Satellite are present. Sarhan Kubeisi (guitar), Jarek Michalski (bass) and Krzys Palczwewski (keyboards). Wojtek plays drums, acoustic guitar and keyboards on this album as well as the composer. Rounding off the band is singer Marta Kniewska (a.k.a. Robin), who makes her debut as singer and lyricist.

Sometimes Robin’s vocal style reminds me of Agua de Annique vocalist Anneke van Giersbergen. Robin sings in a softer register than Anneke, so the comparison is soon in the back of your mind especially when Robin’s vocals are more layered with effects. This in no way discredits either singer, just an observation. Highlights for me are “Your Story”, “Close” and “Open Your Eyes”

This can be the perfect companion album to Satellite’s latest, Nostalgia which shares a similar style. The difference is Satellite goes the more progressive route and Strawberry Fields, goes the pop-rock route This album should appeal to music fans other than progressive rock.. If you enjoyed Paatos, Portishead, the trip-hop era of The Gathering or Anneke’s new band Aqua de Annique, then proceed to your favorite vendor and purchase this ASAP!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on June 15th, 2009


01. Your Story
02. Close
03. River's Gone Dry
04. Fool
05. Moon
06. Beautiful
07. Open Your Eyes
08. Maybe
09. Flow

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.