Artist/ Band: Shift F7
Title: Crimson Diablo
Label: SML Records
Year of Release: 2008
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

Shift F7 is a Canadian duo, Van Roland & Mihn Dihn Chin Chilleo, and in 2008 they released their debut album "Crimson Diablo".Based on the musical content of the album, the band seems to be heavily influenced by the 80’s gothic rock movement. The result is a dark and bleak soundscape utilizing atmospheric keyboard textures, melodic guitars and brooding vocals.

The songs are kept short, with some slight variations that seem to a set mood rather than unnecessary soloing or over extended themes. Most of the songs have a similar tone to them thus making it hard to pinpoint a highlight or stand-out track but a song like “Broken Parts” seems to be one I like the best.

With all the 70’s retro bands out there, it’s time to bring back the 80’s music, especially with the advancement in technology. I think bands like Shift F7 will bring justice to that sound that suffers in dated material. So if you missed the 80’s especially the gothic rock scene, then do yourself a favor and get ‘Crimson Diablo’ ASAP!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on October 3rd, 2008


1. First In Line
2. Humanbeing
3. Cure For The Pure
4. Monacle
5. Broken Parts
6. Straight To Hell
7. Moni
8. A Fool In Love
9. God Speed
10. Numb Today
11. Tame And Wild Horses
12. Forevermore

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2008,, All Rights Reserved.