Artist/ Band: Satyrian
Title: Eternitas
Label: Lion Music
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

This is refreshing, dramatic music from a band based in Germany, but describes itself as an "international gothic rock band." Formerly known as Danse Macabre (a way cooler name!), Satyrian delivers exciting modern music with unique vocals, soaring orchestration, and sincere lyrics.

Eternitas is the first album under the band's new name, and also includes a few new members. With three lead singers, they present original texture in their vocalization. The one male voice, deep and rough, is tempered by the sweet sounds of two females resembling Kate Bush/Pat Benetar in range and clarity. They sing in English, but it would be great to hear them in German. The music is powerful enough for that language.

Musically, the piano is well-represented here, but the guitars are rather weak. I would hesitate to label Satyrian as "Goth Metal" for that reason. (Is there such thing as "Symphonic Goth"?) A violin, flute, and other unknown instruments add drama to the mix.

This is very good Progressive music, better than anything I've heard from Evanescence or other female-fronted bands of this vein. If your girlfriend hates Prog she just might dig Satyrian. It's a good step in the right direction.

Buy this album!

Reviewed by Melissa Palmer on June 22nd, 2006


1. Eternitas
2. Invictus
3. Feel the Rush
4. My Legacy
5. The Dark Gift
6. Sacred Lies
7. Bridge of Death
8. Fall From Grace
9. No Tears, No Embrace
10. Haunted
11. This Dream
12. Ewigkeit

Contact Us Back

Copyright 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.