Artist/ Band: Ryan Parmenter
Title: The Noble Knave
Label: Split Difference
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

I’ve enjoyed the output of Ryan Parmenter's band Eyestrings, and had a chance to review the last one, Consumption, was an extreme pleasure. Now in late 2006 Ryan released his second solo album, The Noble Knave I was honestly expecting similar sounding music at first but was pleased that he chose to do something different than in Eyestrings, a perfect little pop album.

Drawing from obvious influences like The Beatles and The Beach Boys, Ryan creates nice melodies that stay in your head long after the music is over. It‘s a fun album and won‘t win over fans of the more complex music but it will keep you wanting to hit the repeat button over and over.

The Noble Knave is comprised of material written between 1996 and 2006. It showcased Ryan’s abilities to write intelligent pop music. He also takes influences of newer bands like Jellyfish, Silverchair (Diorama) and even Fritz Doddy. You have to hear it, in fact you must if you’re a fan of any of the afore mentioned bands. I definitely will recommend this especially as a personal favorite.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 28th, 2007


1. Züccer
2. Keep Crying
3. Dating My Frankenstein
4. Starving
5. Diamond Eggshell
6. I Dig Your Head
7. All Ways
8. Sterilized
9. Dream
10. No Matter How You Spend Your Day
11. I'm Just A Guy
12. The Noble Knave
13. Come Along

Reviewed Discography

Here are other reviews by this artist at

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2007,, All Rights Reserved.