Artist/ Band: Rodolfo Alchousson
Title: Talisman
Label: Viajero Inmovil Records
Year of Release: 2004 reissue
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Viajero Inmovil’s unearths some really interesting gems. This time around it’s a decade old reissue of Talismán by Rodolfo Alchourron, who passed away in 1999 at the age of 65. This half-jazzy, half-prog release is close to the softer sounds that Camel produced in the late 70's It is a very laid-back album, in fact the first three tracks got me too relaxed that I began to doze off. No that didn’t mean it was boring, just overly relaxing.

Rodolfo is joined by several musicians including vocalist Naty Swartz, Flugelhorn and clarinet players Roberto Martin and Daniel Kovacich and the rythmn section of fretless bassist Máximo Rodriuguez and drummer Germán Bianco. This is a nice release to listen to in the evening hours while at home after dinner, enjoying your favorite beverage. There’s nothing that truly grabs you, just pleasant relaxing music.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on January 11th, 2005


1. Arbol De Sirenas (Tree Of Sirens) 6:43
2. Conflictón (5:24)
3. Milonga De Los Invisibles ([Dance] Of The Invisibles) (7:40)
4. Hola Y Adioses (Hellos & Goodbyes) (7:32)
5. Amiga Nueva (New Friend) (5:18)
6. Volá Gorrión (Sparrow’s Flight) (7:25)
7. Por Calles De Barrio (Through Neighborhood Streets) (11:13)

Copyright © 1998-2004,, All Rights Reserved.