Artist/ Band: Proto-Kaw
Title: The Wait of Glory
Label: InsideOut Music
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

The Wait of Glory is Proto-Kaw’s second release on the InsideOut Music label. The first was the amazing Before Became After. They have solidified their high status as part of the new American modern prog bands. Their sound is rooted in the classic 70's style, especially that of Kansas (Kerry’s famous band) but with a modern twist. Kerry has truly found a second life after Kansas with Proto-Kaw. In many ways his best writing since the early days.

To better appreciate this new album, I decided to revisit Before Became After. While the first one was good, The Wait of Glory was the next step in a better evolution. I found the overall album easier to listen to from beginning to end. I think band proved to the progressive rock world their worth on their debut and their Early Kansas recordings, thus relaxing up a bit to give a better flowing album from beginning to end.

The Wait of Glory is also available in a special edition with a bonus track and dvd, which I strongly recommend purchasing that version. While they haven’t really re-invented the genre, they have (to me) reinforced the strengths of what pure progressive rock is all with combining hard rock, jazz, and funk. So far 2006 has given us quite a number of fantastic releases. Most will be forgotten come December but The Wait of Glory will be remembered for years to come.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on February 28th, 2006


1. Nevermore
2. Relics Of The Tempest
3. When The Rains Come
4. On The Eve Of The Great Decline
5. Physic
6. Osvaldo's Groceries
7. The Vigil
8. Old Number 63
9. Melicus Gladiator
10. Picture This

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.