Artist/ Band: Michael Pinnella
Title: Enter By The Twelfth Gate
Label: InsideOut Music
Year of Release: 2004

Link (click on the link for ALL band info)

The Review:

When I first opened the package from InsideOut Music and saw a solo release from Symphony Xís keyboardist, Michael Pinnella, I immediately thought it was going to be a shred fest similar in vein to Sym X. Boy I was so wrong, in fact I absolutely am pleasantly surprised to hear such beautifully orchestrated music. Michael Pinnella is truly one of the better keyboard players of our day, prog metal or other. His playing on Enter By the Twelfth Gate is on par with Erik Norlanderís Threshold. In fact I rank them both as one of my favorites of a solo keyboard artist. Musically Michael treads in a classical vein with some very tasteful bombastic moments that aren't too over the top.

This is for fanís of instrumental keyboard based progressive rock as well as classical music lovers. I hope to hear more of Michaelís playing in future solo releases as well as on Symphony X. Highly recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on October 19th, 2004


1. The White Room
2. Edge Of Insanity
3. Piano Concerto #1 mvt. 1
4. Enter By The 12th Gate
5. Falling From The Sky
6. Welcome To My Daydream
7. Piano Concerto #1 mvt. 2
8. Piano Concerto #1 mvt. 3
9. Live For The Day
10. *Scriabin Etude Op.42 no5
11. Moracan Lullaby
12. Departing For Eternity
13. Cross The Bridge

Copyright © 1998-2004,, All Rights Reserved.