Artist/ Band: Marillion
Title: Happiness Is The Road: Volume One & Two
Label: MVD
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

Marillion’s fifteenth album, Happiness Is The Road (first available as a free download) is an ambitious double album which contains nearly two hours of music. It is divided into two separate volumes both equally important. The first one is subtitled “Essence,” and the second is “The Hard Shoulder”. It’s on par with their Marbles album. Unlike most of the double albums out on the market today, this is a solid listen from start to finish with no filler songs.

Some of my favorite songs on the first disc are the opening instrumental “Dreamy Street” which segues seamlessly into “This Train Is My Life“. Next is “Essence” which has slow build up to an energetic level. It reminds me of another of their songs “Splintering Heart”. Add “Woke Up“, which to me, set the tone for the rest of this volume.

On the second volume, the songs are slightly more energetic without sacrificing their trademark sound since Brave. Some of my favorites are “Thunderfly”, “The Man From The Planet Marzipan” and “Whatever Is Wrong With You”. These along with the ones on volume one are, in my humble opinion, instant classics in the Marillion catalog. I would recommend purchasing both volumes or the set (if available) this from your favorite online vendor ASAP! Highly recommended!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on March 31st, 2009


Volume 1: Essence

01. Dreamy Street
02. This Train Is My Life
03. Essence
04. Wrapped Up in Time
05. Liquidity
06. Nothing Fills the Hole
07. Woke Up
08. Trap the Spark
09. A State of Mind
010. Happiness Is the Road

Volume 2: The Hard Shoulder

01. Thunder Fly
02. The Man From The Planet Marzipan
03. Asylum Satellite #1
o4. Older Than Me
05. Throw Me Out
06. Half The World
07. Whatever Is Wrong With You
08. Especially True
09. Real Tears For Sale

Reviewed Discography

Related reviews by this artist/band at

Copyright � 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.