Artist/ Band: Mahogany Frog
Title: DO5
Label: Moonjune Records
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

‘DO5’ is the Canadian quartet Mahogany Frog’s fifth release (first for the MoonJune Records label).Musically the band is a psychedelic jazz-rock combined at times with crunchy guitars and even some hints of Canterbury music . The band consists of Scott Ellenberger (bass, Briscoe organ, percussion, trumpets), Graham Epp (assorted keyboards, trumpets, guitar), Jessie Warkentin (assorted keyboards, guitar), and J. P. Perron (percussion).

From the assault of the opening track, “G.M.F.T.P.O” you know this won’t be a typical musical journey. From there, the band switches to a softer spacey which builds during the duration of the 11 minutes on “T-Tigers And Toasters”. These two songs I count as my favorites on this album and encompasses just about everything I love about progressive based music. That in mind, I do enjoy the entire album and place it among the better releases of 2008.

If you enjoy modern approaches to progressive based jazz with psychedelic and ambient touches, then for yourself a BIG favor and pick up a copy of DO5 today. This is one of the best surprises I’ve heard in years. The wonderful thing about it, is it gets better with each listen. Highly recommended? Hands down yes!!!

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on November 3rd, 2008


1. G.M.F.T.P.O
2. T-Tigers & Toasters
3. Last Stand at Fisher Farm
4. You're Meshugah!
5. I Am Not Your Sugar
6. Demon Jigging Spoon
7. Medicine Missile
8. Lady XOC & Shield Jaguar
9. Loveset

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2008,, All Rights Reserved.