Artist/ Band: Magnolia
Title: Magnolia
Label: Transubstans Records
Year of Release: 2006
Artist/ Band Link (click for details/ ordering)

The Review:

Oh those amazing Swede and the way they bring back the magnificent 70ís in a grand fashion. This time around, Magnolia, named after a Blue Cheer song, has taken on the power trio sounds of the late 60ís, early 70ís like Cream, Blue Cheer, Mountain and countless others. The thunderous bass and drums combined with the wailing guitars sends shivers down the listenerís spine.

The song titles and vocals are in Swedish so you may or may not be turned off. I tend to feel the vocals could be another instrument especially if it blends so well with the music. However I do feel if they want to get a wider audience base, they might have to include some English lyrics in any future releases. If they do that then Magnolia will show bands like Wolfmother and Jet, how to really do the retro sound, the right way!

The music takes you back to the days before digitalized music, when even slight mistakes wonít be tampered with. Also the music is pure and with a lot of soul to it. I canít say that about many hard rock bands of today. Itíd hard to say what are my personal highlights as the whole album is enjoyable from start to finish. But if I had to say one track that will represent the band, is the title track.

While not groundbreaking, it is refreshing to hear this style of music in a modern age. I would recommend this to fans of all the afore mentioned bands and those who can handle foreign vocals.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on December 12th, 2006


1. Resa utan slut
2. Kvarnsten
3. Forsvunnen
4. Trollbunden
5. Stanna till!
6. Magnolia
7. Natt blev dag
8. Dalslandsk polska
9. Vem bestammer?

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2006,, All Rights Reserved.