Artist: Ken Tamplin and Friends
Title: Wake the Nations
Produced by:
Label/ Date: 2003


01. The Story of Love [4:47]
02. We've Jihad Enough [3:12]
03. Falling House [5:08]
04. The Man with the Plan [5:08]
05. Hare Kristians [4:07]
06. Wake the Nations [3:56]
07. God in Heaven [5:14]
08. Peace on Earth [4:17]
09. Mystery [4:13]
10. Cell Phone Freak [3:41]
11. 7 Eleven People [3:54]
12. Saints and Heroes [3:53]
13. Waiting for Your Love [4:21]
14. Come Together [4:05]
15. Sing [5:15]

The Review:

Ken Tamplin has an all-star line-up on his latest solo project release, Wake the Nation which is set to be released in April 2003.

On this who's who of hard rock/heavy metal list are some of the greatest guitarists from the 80's & 90's such as Marty Friedman (Megadeath), Ritchie Kotzen (Mr. Big, Poison), Reb Beach (Winger), Kee Marcello (Europe), Jeff Watson (Night Ranger), Pete Lesperence (Harem Scarem), Mattias Eklundh (Freak Kitchen), Scott Van Zen (LA Guitar Wars Winner) Howie Simon (Jeff Scott Soto) and Steve Salas. Also Jeff Scott Soto makes an appearance on the first track, "The Story of Love."

The promo CD I received contains 15 tracks and one video, which I couldn't not review as I am unable to view computer rom discs. The final release will contain 18 tracks and two videos.

I wasn't aware of Ken's music before this promo but I can say that his song writing, vocals and guitarmanship are on par with the above mentioned bands.

For those listeners that want a more simpler hard rock/metal of the days before grunge or nu-metal then Wake the Nations is for you. Although it's very reminiscent of hard rock music from the 80s and early 90s, it is very much a quality production of today. Other than that, this CD is not for those listeners who expect complex, symphonic or epic music.

~Ron for [March 28th, 2003]

Band Members:

Ken Tamplin - Vocals, Guitars
Ed Roth - Keyboards
Glen Sobel - Drums
Daniel Pearson - Bass

Plus -
Jeff Scott Soto & Philip Bardwell - Vocals on track 1
Scott Van Zein - Guitar solo on tracks 1, 2, 6, 7,
Howie Simon - Guitar solo on tracks 3, 9, 13
Jeff Watson - Guitar solo on track 4
Pete Lesperance & Stevie Salas - Guitar solos on track 5
Ritchie Kotzen - Guitar solo on track 10
Rob Beach & Marty Friedman - Guitar solos on track 11
Mathias Eklundh - Guitar solo on track 12
Doug Aldridge - Guitar solo on track 14

Copyright 1998-2003,, All Rights Reserved.