Artist/ Band: Humanzee
Title: After the Aftermath...
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2008
Artist/ Band Link (click for more details)

The Review:

Humanzee is a power trio of sorts from California that defies classification with a sound borders somewhere between the alternative and progressive rock genres. The band consists of Tim Agee (vocals, guitars), Eli Colvin (bass) and Tim Bailey (drums). On their second album, ‘After the Aftermath‘, I hear what sounds like equal parts Duran Duran, U2, Rush, Police along with some lesser known bands like Little King, Three (3) and a few other influences I can’t pinpoint to create a unique result.

From the opening track, "Don't Close Your Eyes" to the closing “Leave The Light On“, the trio gives the listener a high energy ride. Although the entire album is an amazing body of work, I tend to gravitate toward the song "Time Rules Over Us," as a highlight. On this, they combine complex polyrhythmic sensibilities with an accessibility that will appeal to open-minded fans. I would recommend this band and their ‘After The Aftermath’ especially to those that want something beyond the norm.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on October 3rd, 2008


1. Don't Close Your Eyes
2. The Closing Curtain
3. Another Moment
4. Time Rules Over Us
5. Strange Light
6. Worst Friend
7. Charades
8. Circle To Square
9. Leave The Light On

Contact Us Back

Copyright © 1998-2008,, All Rights Reserved.