Artist/ Band: HeadenD
Title: Sensoria
Label: Self release
Year of Release: 2008
Offical Artist/ Band Link

The Review:

HeadenD is a brand new progressive rock band out of Philadelphia, PA The band consist of a duo, Ray Bontempi (guitars, bass, keyboards, and vocals) and Joe Halgas (drums, percussion, bass, and vocals). For two people they do more in the space than bands that have four or more members. Iím sure that theyíd add musicians for live outings. (Hint to all progressive rock festivals especially either NEARfest or Prog Day)

Their debut, Sensoria, is a powerhouse of many influences including Rush, Yes, Tool, Porcupine Tree, Primus (mostly in the vocals), Kings X, Pink Floyd, The Beatles to name a few. These influences are the bandís blueprint for their amazing original sound. The only down side, if at all, is the vocals. A listener with patience will be able to handle them. <{> When you look at the times of each song, youíll know the bandís aim is for the progressive rock side of the spectrum. There are two epics, over 10 minutes long and the rest range from 7-9 minutes, with some under 2 minute intros. The results are some raw progressive & alternative rock moments throughout the album.

This is one of those bands that you need to experience with an open-mind. Once you allow the music to flow into your ears, you will be hooked and wanting more. If you enjoy the aforementioned bands, then HeadenDís debut Sensoria is the album for you.

Reviewed by Ron Fuchs on July 3rd, 2009


01. Salvolatile
02. Twilight
03. Fractured
04. Meniscus (The Boundary Between)
05. Cryptomnesia
06. Nine Days Wonder
07. Origins
08. Alternate Ending
09. Ascend

Copyright © 1998-2009,, All Rights Reserved.